Theatre Thursday: Evita

This year, for my 25th birthday, my husband bought me a season subscription to our local Theatre. Providence Performing Arts Center (PPAC) is an amazing theatre that draws in all the best Broadway shows. This year they have a 7 show subscription. The line-up includes Evita, Once, Ghost, The Phantom of the Opera, Flashdance, We Will Rock You & The Book of Mormon. I am lucky enough to be going to see them all (with my mom!). The nice thing about a subscription is that you get a discounted price on the tickets and your seat and show time is always the same.

I decided to post a quick review of the performances as they come around. I wanted to have it done on Tuesday but Thursday takes the pressure off a little (My tickets will always be for the Sunday performance).

(source)
(source)

On Sunday, we started the season with Evita. The show was starting its National Tour right here at PPAC. It is an amazing show and I highly recommend it. (If you’re local, you have until 9/14 to catch it)

Run Time: 2 hrs 10 minutes (included a 15 minute intermission)

Synopsis: Eva Perón used her smarts and charisma to rise meteorically from the slums of Argentina to the presidential mansion as First Lady. Adored by her people as a champion for the poor, she became one of the most powerful women in the world — while her greed, outsized ambition and fragile health made her one of the most tragic. EVITA tells Eva’s passionate and unforgettable true story, and features some of theater’s most beautiful songs, including “Don’t Cry for Me Argentina,” “Another Suitcase in Another Hall” and “High Flying, Adored.” (from the PPAC website)

Going into the show, I wasn’t sure what to expect. It started off with a very dark song and actual footage from Argentina after Eva passed away. I thought, “Oh great, this is going to be a long depressing musical.” But, I was wrong. The next song was upbeat and set the mood for the entire show. There were a lot of laughs in the show. Sly remarks from others on what a tramp they thought Eva was. She definitely used her good looks to her advantage and helped move herself from rags to riches by finding all the right men.

This particular cast did an outstanding job. Their voices were incredible. I am still amazed at the talent it takes to be a part of a Broadway production. They sing, they dance, they entertain.

Had this show not been included in my package, I probably never would have gone to see it. Like I said, I knew nothing about it. However, I was pleasantly surprised and very happy that I was able to experience this amazing show.

Hmmm, I’m going to need to get a picture of momma dukes and I.

Overall rating:

4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Next show: Once – October 1- 6

Do you enjoy going to the theatre?

Have you ever seen EVITA?

What did you think of it?

signature

5 thoughts on “Theatre Thursday: Evita

  1. I love Evita! The last time I saw this was in high school. Great memories, thanks for the trip down memory lane!

    I’ll have to see if this is coming to my city.

Leave a Reply

