Doctor’s Orders

I knew the feeling. I had unsuccessfully tried to ignore it the night before. But upon waking up this morning, I knew the only thing that would make it go away. (Besides a week vacation somewhere warm, with no kids and copious amounts of alcohol.)

It had been a long time since I felt this way. It used to come on within 2 or 3 days without my saving grace.

That irritable, short-tempered, pissed at the world, all around miserable feeling.

I.needed.to.run.

As miserable as I was feeling, I was SO EXCITED to finally get the push I needed. I had gone far too long without a run. THIRTY-EIGHT days to be exact. I know, I know, what was I thinking?!

I let life get in the way. I had every excuse and nothing pushing my to lace up my shoes. This is why I need a race – my light at the end of the tunnel. I love to train. My last run was the Hartford Half and with no races in my future, I found my self putting running on the back burner.

BUT – I’m happy to say that’s over. I promise.

After this morning, I found what I had been missing. Twenty minutes was all it took to give me a complete attitude adjustment. It may not seem like much but it was just what the doctor ordered. And by doctor, I mean that little voice in my head that told me I’d be meeting a lot of doctors in the Looney bin if I didn’t get to the closest treadmill ASAP.

Twenty glorious minutes. I found myself again. Just ask my kids 😉

post run

wpid-815926958200815270813-1.png

2 thoughts on “Doctor’s Orders

  1. […] My treadmill. Well I mentioned it on facebook and wrote a blog post about it so I guess it has to come up on here. Honestly I just like that I can run whenever I desire. Well around nap time or bed time. But really, any time of day, any type of weather, my treadmill has my back. It even has a nice “magazine rack” that holds my kindle fire nicely so I can watch Netflix. […]

Leave a Reply

