Thankful Thursday: Thanksgiving Style

So during the month of November, I tried to keep up with the Thankful everyday thing but after 4 or 5 days, I found myself forgetting to post. Don’t get me wrong, I count my blessing everyday but I just didn’t see the importance of writing it on Facebook everyday. I decided to compile it all into one post for Thanksgiving Day. So here is my list (in no particular order):

thankful

  1. My 5 year old Brady. He is the sweetest funniest little boy that I know. He amazes me everyday with the things he knows and observes. He has overcome a speech delay and works hard to continue to improve. He has always found ways to get his point across without showing much, if any, frustration. As my first born, he has taught me to be a better person practically everyday since I knew of his existence. brady
  2. My (almost) 2 year old Austin. Although I can’t tell most baby pictures of them apart, he is total opposite of his older brother. He is full of endless energy and very trying. He will test the limits every chance he gets, drive you crazy one minute and kill you with kindness and cuddles the next. He is devious and he knows it but then he throws you the cutest grin and all is right with the world. austin
  3. My husband. I won’t sit there and pretend that its all “rainbows and unicorns” but I wouldn’t trade him for the world. For every hard time, there are more then enough good times to focus on. He is my rock & my best friend. We work in the same industry which helps to decompress after a hard shift.
  4. My parents. I’m at the point in my life where we can be friends. I usually call my mom first if there is something I want to do that I know Jamie has no interest in. We enjoy our time together and my terrible teen years are just a thing of the past. We are closer than ever. Also, they are ALWAYS there for my kids when we need them.
  5. His parents. Whoever said in-laws are terrible, never met mine. I have a great relationship with all of my husbands family. They have accepted me as if I were their own daughter. I know I could call on them for anything and that means everything to me.
  6. My friends. All of you. Whether we talked today or haven’t spoken in months. You are all in my life for a reason.
  7. My health. As simple as that. I am happy to be healthy and active. I am amazed at what my body can do when I push the limits and the miles. You never know until you try.
  8. My family’s health. I feel incredibly lucky to have 2 healthy boys. Its something that you can easily take for granted until its gone. Jacque from Whole Family Strong really put this into perspective for me on National Diabetes Awareness day when she tracked the day with her 10 year old son that has Type 1 diabetes. Endless blood sugar checks and carb v. insulin calculations, late nights up when the levels just aren’t right. Tweeks every few days or weeks when things aren’t perfect. It amazed me and really made me appreciate how “easy” we have it.
  9. My job. If you take away the fact that I work 3rd shift, my job is pretty awesome. I make good money, I have great health insurance for my family, and other fringe benefits. But even without all that, I love my job. I work with amazing people. My division is small, only 8 people currently in it but the fire department itself has about 200 people and all most of them are great. (No offense to anyone there, I just haven’t even meant all of them). When they say the FD is a “brotherhood”, they truly mean it. Even for us sisters 😉
  10. Clean Running water. Again, something else we often take for granted.
  11. A roof over my head. Homelessness is a serious problem in our country. I’m happy that I can come home to a warm, clean house every night.
  12. Music. Its just good for the soul. I love how songs can trigger memories the instant they come on the radio. Its amazing how you can remember the words to a song you listened to 15 years ago (ie. Spice Girls – guilty pleasure)
  13. Access to fresh, healthy food. I may not always make the healthiest choices when it comes to food but the fact that I have the option to eat whatever I want is something I am thankful for. (With the exception of Kobe beef – I don’t think I’ll ever be able to afford that!)
  14. My crockpot. As mentioned on Facebook. Gives you the ability to come home to a nice hot meal ready to eat. Set it and forget it.
  15. My treadmill. Well I mentioned it on facebook and wrote a blog post about it so I guess it has to come up on here. Honestly I just like that I can run whenever I desire. Well around nap time or bed time. But really, any time of day, any type of weather, my treadmill has my back. It even has a nice “magazine rack” that holds my kindle fire nicely so I can watch Netflix.
  16. Technology. Anything I can get my hands on. I love having instant access to information, I like streaming TVs shows and catching up on whole seasons in one day. I like being able to connect with my friends and keep up with things going on in their lives.
  17. Good books. There is NOTHING better than getting lost in a good book. Books have the ability to take you anywhere. I am thankful to enjoy reading and hope to pass that onto my children.
  18. My church. Christian Hill. Although I have only been going there since August, I look forward to it every week. They offer a wonderful Children’s ministry which really allows me to pay attention and take in the Pastor’s message every week.
  19. My faith. I find comfort in believing that there is life after death. Knowing you’ll meet again, makes losing loved ones just a little bit easier. God is good.
  20. MOPS. I love the feeling I get meeting with these wonderful ladies every week.
  21. Photography. Nothing better than capturing a great memory and being able to look back on it anytime that you want.
  22. Education. Imagine living in a place where you couldn’t learn what you want, when you want? I am thankful that I can decide to register for a class just about anytime I want.
  23. A good pair of running shoes. Because really, they make ALL the difference.
  24. The blogging community. In the 3 months that I have been blogging, I have connected with so many amazing people. Its such a fun, supportive community with a wealth of knowledge on just about any topic you can think of.
  25. Pinterest. Where else can you find thousands of recipes, craft ideas, DIYs, tips and home décor that you pin and forget about. JK. I have actually done some of the things that I pinned but its definitely a guilty pleasure.
  26. This video. Men just don’t understand.

signature

4 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: Thanksgiving Style

  1. What wonderful things to be thankful for. I was late starting, so I still have about a week of posts and I have been doing them on my blog, but it’s been a wonderful reminder. =)

Leave a Reply

