Getting Myself Back In The Game

When I fell in love with running, I swore that I would keep at it no matter what. If I were to have another baby, I would have a fun, fit pregnancy and bounce back post-partum better than I had with my two previous pregnancies.

I’m now 25 weeks pregnant and this has proved to be harder than I expected.

I found out I was pregnant back in January. My running had already been slacking and the first trimester proved to be EXHAUSTING. It was nothing like my previous two pregnancies. I could not muster up the energy to make it through breakfast without wanting a nap, never mind going for a run.

I did attempt a few runs here and there and quickly learned that I had let all of my conditioning fade away. My lungs were on fire.

Fast forward to last week. I decided I needed to make a change. At 24 weeks and 5 days, I knew I couldn’t go the next 15+ weeks without running. I decided I would start Couch to 5k. It had proven to be a great program when I started running 2.5 years ago and I knew it would help me get back in the game.

My plan is to follow the run/walk program until it gets to be too much. I will increase my run time until I feel I need to pull back a little. I know my body and I intend to listen to it.

Just don’t tell my doctor 😉

I know it isn’t “ideal” to start a new workout regimen while pregnant but, to me, running is not new. I just need a little reset.

I’m not out to break records or run marathons. I just need to run. I need to keep myself moving and keep my weight gain in check. I also, look forward to a quick recovery after the baby is born.

So here’s week one. It went great!

w1
Click image to go to C25K site

Training 6.15.14

Mileage (not including warm up/cool down)

Monday: 1.26 miles

Wednesday: 1.35 miles

Friday: 1.37 miles

24 week run
After Monday’s Run. Feeling HAPPY

 

Lets Chat!

Have you used Couch to 5k? I used it when I started running in January 2012. Then ran my first 5k in March and went on to run my first Half Marathon that August.

What do you do to stay active while pregnant? Besides walking here and there in my two previous pregnancies, this is my first real attempt at staying active.

What are your tips for staying comfortable while exercising during pregnancy? Listen to your body. Only you know how you feel. I also have a little belly band to help hold things in place. HYDRATE!!

Best tip for shedding the baby weight post-partum… I didn’t do much after my first-born, and started off weighing more than I would have liked when I got pregnant with my second. I started running to shed pounds after he was born and was pretty much back at my pre[second]pregnancy weight. I plan to continuing running after my third is born and maybe pick up swimming. I’d also love to some spin classes!

 

wpid-815926958200815270813-1.png

Leave a Reply

