B.A.A. Distance Medley: The 5k

Back in January, I registered for the BAA Distance Medley. Which guaranteed me entry in the 5k, 10k and Half Marathon ran by B.A.A. (The same group that hosts the Boston Marathon.)

Marathon Weekend starts off with the 5k on Saturday. It was a beautiful cool and sunny day in Boston. My aunt (aka coach) and I shipped up to Boston together. If you don’t know about my aunt read this

Spoiler alert: I set a new PR!!!!

BAA 5k

Check out that 3rd mile!

Official Race time: 30:20

So close to a sub 30, but it just gives me something to work towards. My previous PR was 31:21 which was my last 5k back in Sept 2013.

The course starts and ends at the Boston Commons. My favorite part of the race was crossing over the BOSTON MARATHON FINISH LINE. I wish they had been taking pictures there. I also enjoyed the out and back set up of the course. Due to a delayed start, I saw the lead runners coming back just as my race was starting. I always get emotional and I don’t know why and it made me tear up lol. Such a sap!baa map

The medal is really nice, especially for a 5k. I will get one for each race and an extra for completing the medley.. anything for some extra bling!

baa medal

Overall, the race was very well organized. We got nice tech shirts, a good medal and lots of food in the goodie bag at the finish. The course is nice and flat with just three insignificant inclines. I’m looking forward to the next two races.

Two days after the race, I went back to Boston Hopkinton to volunteer at the marathon!

signature

11 thoughts on “B.A.A. Distance Medley: The 5k

  1. Great job on your PR!! Sounds like a great race! Love the medal! I can’t wait to run in Boston! I’ll be there for the Boston Run to Remember on the 24th! 🙂 #wowlinkup

Leave a Reply

