I Caught the Bug

I have decided to run the 2015 Marine Corps Marathon!

It’s official, I’m no longer going to just be half crazy!!!! Although, my husband may argue that I’ve always been completely crazy…

mcm And I was lucky enough to be chosen to run in support of the Girls on the Run of Montgomery County, MD.

Girls on the Run is a national organization that is dedicated to creating a world where every girl knows her limitless potential. The 10 week program helps girls train for a 5k while building their confidence and teaching them the skills needed to maintain a healthy lifestyle.

I was drawn to this organization because everything they strive to achieve, is what I have experienced since I became a runner. Running has taught me that I am stronger than I ever knew I could be. It has given me the confidence to push my limits both as a runner, mother and WOMAN. I have learned more about myself through running.

I want to be able to help other girls feel the way I feel when I lace up my running shoes. GOTR allows them to see the benefits of running and coaches them in life, as well.

GOTR

No girl is turned away, regardless of whether they can afford the program or not. That is why GOTR needs our help!

  • $35 can sponsor a pair of running shoes for one girls
  • $50 can fund a pair of running shoes and snacks for one girl
  • $140 can fund running shoes for 4 girls
  • $250 supports a full season scholarship for one girl
  • $1000 can support a full season scholarship for four girls

My goal is to raise $1500, and with your support I can get there, donate here.

I’ll be posting weekly training updates right here so you can follow along! Thank you in advance for your support and encouragement.

Race day is October 25th so I know I’ll have a special angel looking over my shoulder *EJL*

signature

GOTR Solemate

17 thoughts on “I Caught the Bug

  1. What an awesome cause! I’m trying to get better at running so i can do a race like this. I’ve got a few things planned for later this year with fundraisers & Thirty One. i love that your doing this! i’ll be back on Friday to sponsor you!

  2. Thank you so much Leslie! I’m hoping to improve my pace over the next 5 months so it won’t take me too long to cross the finish line! I’m using Run Less, Run Faster for my training and hoping for sub 5 hours but I’ll be happy with an injury free finish!

    PS I love Thirty One!

  3. Whooo hooo! So excited for you! This will be an amazing first marathon. It was my first and this is the perfect one for your first!!

Leave a Reply

