Weekly Training Recap {May 18 – 24}

Currently training for: B.A.A 10k on June 21st. This will be my first official 10k (yay for an automatic PR!) Two weeks after this race my official marathon training begins!

Training Program: Run Less, Run Faster 10k training plan

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 6 x 800 intervals with 90 sec rest.

Total 3.65 in 36:42 (avg pace 10:03/mile)

hiit

Wednesday: Body Pump

Thursday: 5 mile tempo run

2 miles @ 10:03 (actual 10:04 and 10:06)

1 easy mile (actual 10:43)

2 miles @ 10:03 (actual 10:23 and 9:51)

extra 0.19 avg pace 8:04

Total 5.16 in 52:40 avg pace 10:09!!

I was SO happy with this run! I used the virtual pacer feature on my Garmin, set for 10:05, to keep me in line. I was feeling a little tired on mile 4 but I was able to make up for it on mile 5 and finish strong. It felt great!!!

Friday: rest

Saturday: rest

You can see that I worked (desk job) Monday, Friday and Saturday. My step count is awful when I'm on days.
You can see that I worked (desk job) Monday, Friday and Saturday. My step count is awful when I’m on days.

Sunday: Long Run 6.97 in 1:19:26 (avg. pace 11:24).

I decided to venture out and join a group run today. Myself and six others met at the local running store at 8 am. While chatting about paces and distances, I found someone to buddy up with. I was planning 6 miles and she was hoping for 7. Two of the other runners were hoping for 9 miles at a little faster of a pace and the others were much faster.

We ended up in the back of the pack and lost sight of everyone – it was the first time there for both of us so we accidently running off course. The only downside was that we had expected to see a water stop at mile three but we never found it. ha. oh well. We had a great run and great conversation. It was nice that I was able to push myself to 7 miles.

I have to work the next two Sundays so I won’t be meeting up with them. If/when I run with this group again, I’ll be sure to find out where to go! Water stops are always a plus!!

Thanks for reading! Be sure to come back tomorrow and link up those race recaps!

GOTR SoleMate
GOTR SoleMate

Are you currently training, how is it going?

Do you enjoy running solo or with a group?

I’m linking up with Running n Reading | Her Heartland Soul | The Quinntessential Mommy

25 thoughts on “Weekly Training Recap {May 18 – 24}

  1. Nice job training this week! I have yet to join the group runs at my local running store, though I’d like to at some point. I’m a bit nervous about it! But hearing your experience makes me want to give it a shot. Have a great week!

  2. Nice job training this week! Good luck with the 10k. I have yet to join the group runs at my local running store, though I’d like to at some point. I’m a bit nervous about it! But hearing your experience makes me want to give it a shot. Have a great week!

  3. Good job on the training! Because I run on my treadmill almost exclusively, I’m a solo runner. I do occasionally go out on Sundays. I ran with the local store’s AM fun run group once (scheduling with when I leave for work can be tricky) and it was fun, I’d like to get into it more regularly – but they’re closing that store. Not sure if the group will stay together (they say they’re going to try).

  4. I wore a fitbit for quite a while and was always amazed at how much less moving around I did on work days. I would have only 3000 steps unless I went for a walk or a run in the evening. Then on weekends I would easily be over 20,000 steps with running errands, doing yardwork, etc. Nice work on the training!

  5. I’ve got a vivosmart and the days when I work are awful too. If I don’t go running, I usually end up with around 4,000 steps. I think the tracking bracelets are really helpful for that. I mean I knew I didn’t get as much activity when I don’t workout, but it’s crazy to see the different right in front of your eyes.

    Sarah
    Midwest Darling

    • Seeing my activity, or lack there of, definitely motivates me. One night I hit 10,003 because I did laps around the house before bed, just to hit my goal.

  6. Sounds like a great week! I’m not specifically training for anything, but will be doing the summer trail race series here in Tallahassee, so that’s kind of “big” (for me). I end up running alone most of the time but do enjoy running with people when it works out!

    • It is crazy to see the difference. The only reason I have that many steps on work days is because the bathroom is so far from my office & I drink a Lot of water. Lol.

  7. I’ll soon start training for my first marathon too. I’ve done a lot of halves…so it was just time. I am definitely motivated by the lack of steps on my Fitbit. The days I’m not active are a big wake-up call. Good luck with your 10k!

  8. I am training! I am running my first race post baby #3 in a month. It’s a 4-miler. Then, the next week starts half training season for Half #6. I run with a group when doing long races because I can’t find time if it’s left up to me to do it. It holds me accountable and the conversation is distracting. Though, I’d rather listen than talk when I run. Way to go on your training!!

Leave a Reply

