Weekly Training Recap {May 25 – 31}

Currently training for: B.A.A 10k on June 21st. This will be my first official 10k.  Two weeks after this race my official marathon training begins!

Training Program: Run Less, Run Faster 10k training plan

Let me just start off by saying I had an awful week, training wise. My week in general was good. My training, however, was totally off track. I’m looking forward to a new week and getting my sh*t back together. I did manage to run twice, but the runs weren’t what they should have been.

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 2.95 miles in 32:08 avg. pace 10:54. I spent all day walking around in my running clothes, determined to get a run in. But as the hours went by, I didn’t think my run was going to happen.

It wasn’t until after 4:00 that I finally laced up and hit the road. I took M with me, which made things easier for J. A nice compromise even though pushing the stroller slows me down. I needed to get the miles in and wanted to try out my new shoes. That’s right, I finally got to the running store for some new shoes! My first pair of Brooks! Oh and my first pair of Saucony also. Ok, so I spoiled myself a little bit.

M and I ended up having a good run. She loves going for walks/runs. I tried out a new route which added in some unnecessary hills but we survived! I’m actually pretty happy with this pace!!

collage june 1

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: Zumba! I love Zumba but this was a very poor decision on my part. I woke up with a slightly stiff neck/shoulder and thought “oh, I’ll just work out it at Zumba.” Nope. I only made it worse! So, my range of motion was poor, at best and I was sore for the rest of the day.

I made an appointment with a chiropractor for Monday. Of course, I’m feeling a little better now. I will however keep my appointment because it is a trouble spot of mine and I’ve been meaning to go anyway.

Friday: 3.66 miles in 33:36 avg pace 9:11 at the Special Olympics Torch Run!!

The guys and I at the end. We had a small showing this year because there was a house fire a few hours before the run.
The guys and I at the end. We had a small showing this year because there was a house fire a few hours before the run.

All of the local Police and Fire departments run across Rhode Island to kick of the Annual SORI event. Total distance of our leg is 5.2 miles. It is run much faster than my comfortable pace but I like to participate anyway. My goal was to run the whole thing and count it as my long run but I had to hop in the van and take a break after mile 2. At that point in the course, it is pretty much up hill for 1.5 miles. No thank you! Not at that pace… Once we reached the top of the incline, I hopped out and finished up the last 1.66 miles.

I’ll have to see where I’m at after MCM and considering focusing a little more on speed vs distance. If I know I’m not at a fast enough pace for next year’s Torch Run, I’ll opt to ride my bike.

That was my first time running in a skirt, isn’t it adorable?!

20150529_172008

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: Rest

My day shifts fell on the weekend so there was no time to make up my long run. I’m not getting up at 4:00 am. Sorry, I’m not sorry.

Total miles for May: 47

Thanks for reading! Be sure to come back tomorrow and link up those race recaps!

GOTR SoleMate
GOTR SoleMate

Are you currently training, how is it going?

Skirts, shorts or capris? 
Any luck with a chiropractor?

I’m linking up with Running n Reading | Her Heartland Soul | The Quinntessential Mommy

$5.99 Flat Rate Shipping on ALL U.S. Orders at Skirt Sports! Click here for details.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Training Recap {May 25 – 31}

  1. Love the skirt!!! and nice splurge on the new running shoes! Great job on the torch run! I like how you rode in the van up the hill- 🙂 that is the way to do it! Have a great one!

  2. Yes for running skirts! Very cute too. I have never been to a chiropractor. I don’t really know why! I have plenty of aches and pains. Good luck on the 10k.

  3. I’m looking to run my first 10K race too in two weeks! I also think if you’re going to spoil yourself, it might as well be on something that encourages you to get out there and run so two pairs of running shoes are perfect 🙂

  4. Cute skirt! I like capris and I recently started wearing spandex shorts for hotter days. I ran BAA 10K last year and loved it! Good luck with your training.

  5. Jessica, some weeks I just have to get some rest; I’m glad you took care of yourself and didn’t make things any worse! My husband swears by the chiropractor; he goes regularly and I probably could benefit from it. I really enjoy massage therapy, though, so there’s that! Hope you’re feeling back to normal soon and that your week is going well; can’t wait to hear about your weekend! Thanks so much for participating in the link up!

Leave a Reply

