Weekly recap {June 22 – 28}

As you may have read, here, I ran my first official 10k last weekend. Now I’m on a break of sorts. In limbo: in between two training schedules. My marathon training starts on July 6th!

So for the time being, I’m just enjoying running what I want, when I want. This week that only amounted to two runs. I went out for a quick 20 minutes before work the other day and then again for 3 miles with a friend on Saturday.

I enjoy the regiment of a training schedule. It keeps me in line, for the most part. I’m looking forward to seeing where my marathon training takes me. I’ll be using a plan from Run Less, Run Faster. I used their 10k training plan and I was very impressed with my results. My 10k was one of my better races. I felt strong. I could control my pace. I knew how I should feel and I got the results I wanted.

I know marathon training will be a whole new beast that I’ll need to face but I am ready for the challenge!

I’ll be running for Girls on The Run of MoCo, MD. If you feel it on your heart to support a great cause, you can donate here!

Thanks for reading. Be sure to come link up a race recap tomorrow!

GOTR SoleMate
GOTR SoleMate
13 thoughts on “Weekly recap {June 22 – 28}

  1. congrats on your first 10k. definitely not my thing, but im in awe of people of who run soooooo far. i run at night, but not long… i get tired so fast. any quick tips?

  2. Good for you! My longest run to date was a half, and I just couldn’t get over the time commitment. I am going to look into “run less, run faster”- sounds much more my style 😉

  3. 5k! I’ve always always wanted to do a 5k, congrats on yours! I am not sure I’ll ever end up doing one myself but I LOVE hearing about them!

  4. Congrats on your 10K! The company I work for sponsored Girls On The Run here in SC and I got the pleasure on working the booth! It is a great organization! Good Luck!

  5. Congratulations on your 10k! I love running but I’ve never done a race. I just agreed to do one in the fall with a friend. Just a 5k but I just had a baby 2 months ago and am in no way ready.

  6. Congrats on your 10K! And good luck with the marathon training!. I have run pretty much all of my life, but seldom race anymore. My running friends are trying to get me to do the Ragnar Relays though…

Leave a Reply

