MCM Training Week 2

Training for: Marine Corps Marathon October 25, 2015 in Washington, D.C

Method: Run Less, Run Faster Novice Marathon Training

Goal: a) Finish b) sub 5:00:00

Two weeks down, 14 to go! This week went much better than the last. I’m happy with the way my training is going and really looking forward to adding on some longer runs.

Monday: 4 x 800 with 2 minute rest

Total 2.65 miles in 26:00 (9:49/avg)

Tuesday: Swimming/Kicking 12 laps each, alternating with 1 minute rest after every 2 laps

Wednesday: rest

Thursday: 6.98 miles in 1:23:06 (11:54/avg) This was while pushing the baby. I discovered that when I need to run with her, we need to drive to the bike path and then run. The roads leading to the bike path have crap for sidewalks & it is difficult getting there! She took a nap while I did all the work – the nerve! (haha)

image

It amazes me how much easier this run was, with the stroller, than my long run last week, post stomach bug. When I set out for those miles,I didn’t realize just how weak I was from being sick earlier in the week. I was relieved to have a much easier run this time.

Friday: rest

Saturday: 5 mile trail run in 1:05:30 – I’m still waiting for the official time but I know it was close to that. This was a VERY small race and the results aren’t up yet. boo! Race recap to come!

image

Sunday: rest

I’m enjoying the 3 runs a week. It’s manageable for me with a family and other interests. I like adding a swim in and I’m hoping to do a little more this week. Body Pump? Biking? Zumba? We’ll see! Check back next week.

I’m raising money for Girls On The Run, my goal is $1500 and I’m 40% there! If you are interested in helping me reach my goal please donate here, thank you!

GOTR SoleMate
GOTR SoleMate

Are you training for a big fall race?

How many days a week are you running?

Do you have any fundraising tips?

4 thoughts on “MCM Training Week 2

  1. I know what you mean about having to figure out how many days you can devote to running when you have so much other stuff going on (kids, job, etc). I chose my training plan on the basis of what would give me the time improvement but had the fewest days running per week. I’m training for Marine Corps Marathon right now and it has me running 5x a week. But when my littlest one was still so small last year, I only ran 2x per week for last year’s Marine Marathon!

Leave a Reply

