MCM Training Week 4

Training for: Marine Corps Marathon October 25, 2015 in Washington, D.C

Method: Run Less, Run Faster Novice Marathon Training

Goal: a) Finish b) sub 5:00:00

All week, I was nervous about my long run. It had been a LONG time since I’ve run that far, alone. Last week, my long run of 10 miles lined up perfectly with a local 10 mile race. This week I would be running 11 miles all by myself!

Monday: 1x1000m in 5:36 (9:00/mi pace) 

After a pathetic attempt at my speed intervals, I ended up running a little over a mile. I told my husband the universe was working against me. First, I attempted to run on my treadmill and it was “skipping” which didn’t feel safe! I still haven’t looked at it to try to fix it… any tips?? I pulled out the manual, that’s as far as I got. It is on my to-do list…

Next, I attempted to run at the gym, had trouble getting the wi-fi on my kindle to watch Netflix, and I was interrupted by a dirty diaper. (Child care doesn’t handle that). It was now lunch time and I had to get the kids home to feed them so my run was not happening. I had to go into work at 4:30 so that day was shot.

Tuesday: forced rest – I planned to make up for the lack of a run yesterday but I got held over at work…

Wednesday: rest – After coming off a triple shift at work, sleep was the only thing I wanted to do. No run for me.

Thursday: 6 miles 1:06:59 (avg pace 11:12/mi) plan:1 easy, 4 at mid tempo, 1 easy. Mid tempo should have been 9:58, I did ~10:30. I woke up early to get this run in before my husband left for work. I was hoping early would = cooler weather, but it did not. The humidity level was high and temps were already in the mid- high 70s. Ugh!

Friday: rest

Saturday: 11.08 miles in 2:07:00 (avg pace 11:28) I am so happy with this long run! My goal pace was 11:38/mi. I intentionally started off slow. I was hoping for negative splits while still meeting the pace required by my training. It took me a few miles to get my groove. I was enjoying reaching new distances on the bike path in my town. I’m so lucky to have a beautiful spot to run through. It’s neat to see all the old mills and businesses along the bike path because it’s the old railway. This particular part of the path also has an Equestrian Trail, but I did not see any horses. I did, however, see some wild turkeys!
image

I reached the halfway point, had a packet of Gu, and started my 5.5 mile trek back to my car. I was feeling great!! Using my Garmin virtual pacer, I knew I was either ahead of pace or on pace the entire time. My splits were great. I finished strong!! I love having a great run like that. 11:28 is right where I wanted to be.
image

Sunday:  rest

This week I’m looking forward to getting all 3 runs in, plus some cross training. I really need to focus on that. I know it is a key part of the RLRF training. After a great 11 miles, I am no longer anxious for my long run. I know I’m getting stronger and I look forward to the alone time. Time with nature, time for prayer, time for learning more about myself.

I’m raising money for Girls On The Run, my goal is $1500 and I’m 46% there! If you are interested in helping me reach my goal please donate here, thank you!

GOTR SoleMate
GOTR SoleMate
6 thoughts on “MCM Training Week 4

  1. Yay to a great long run!! I know what you mean about getting anxious about long runs. I had myself so sick in early 2014 when training for my second marathon. I was soo nervous for the long run.

    I’m also jealous of your bike path!! I wish we had something like that.

    • Amanda, our bike paths are really incredible! We have over 60 miles of pathway all around our tiny state. Fun fact: the state is 48 miles N-S and 37 miles E-W.

      This particular path is currently 19 miles long but has another 5 mile extension planned!

  2. New to your blog! I’m interested in the Run Less Run Faster training program. I’m going to look into it! It looks like you have some great routes to run! I’m in the middle of my long runs for my upcoming half Labor day weekend then I’ll start to train for my first Marathon at Disney in FL! 🙂

Leave a Reply

