MCM Training Week 5

Training for: Marine Corps Marathon October 25, 2015 in Washington, D.C

Method: Run Less, Run Faster Novice Marathon Training

Goal: a) Finish b) sub 5:00:00

I’m finding my groove in training. I am focused and excited to see where all these miles take me. This week, I found out that I get to pace at a half marathon in September. This race is my one and only DNS, so I feel like this is my comeback! And I get to go to NH for a Half in October – I’m trying to get my MRTT friends to join me. So with 11 long runs remaining, after this week, 4 of them are scheduled with races (including the marathon).

75 days until Marine Corps Marathon!

Monday: speed intervals! 3 x 1600m with 400m rest 3.95 in 40:00 (avg pace 10:08/mi)

This workout was tough! 1600m (1 mile) at the set pace is out of my comfort zone but I feel AMAZING when I’m done. It’s such an accomplishment.

Tuesday: rest

Wednesday: rest

Thursday: swimming! 20x kick with 20 sec rest. I got this swim in while my oldest was taking his swimming lessons. Talk about multi-tasking!

Friday: plan: 12 miles in MP+45 actual: 12.13 miles in 2:27:15 (avg pace 12:08/mi)

image
my view for two and a half hours

A little slower than planned but I was pushing my beautiful 10 month old chunka. haha. I swear, if any of your training runs involve pushing a baby, you are ready for anything come race day. I mean, how often do you have to stop 5 miles into your run to make a bottle. BRING IT ON! ha! This was our longest run together by far. (previous record being 7 miles) I wasn’t sure how it was going to go but I had bottles, snacks and toys ready!

The run was to be at nap time so I thought I would be okay. I had a bottle ready and got going a little after 9. Around mile 5 she was fussy so I stopped to make a bottle and hoped it would help her zonk out but no dice! I had never been this far down the bike path, so I wasn’t expecting mile 4-6 to be uphill – no fun when pushing a stroller. Around mile 8, she finally fell asleep but was back up before mile 10.

Overall the run was good, the baby was good and I was happy to get the miles in.

image
I just LOVE that face!

Saturday: rest

Sunday: Tempo run!! plan 2 easy, 3 at short tempo, 1 easy. actual: 1 easy, 3 tempo, 1 easy. 5 miles in 55:30 (avg pace 11:04/mi)

I wasn’t mentally feeling it so I got right into the tempo miles so I could get er done… I was bored… no music & couldn’t get the captions to show up on the treadmill TV so I stopped watching it. BUT 5 miles is 5 miles!! and I got the 2 tempo in, right on pace!

I’m raising money for Girls On The Run, my goal is $1500 and I’m 46% there! If you are interested in helping me reach my goal please donate here, thank you!

GOTR SoleMate
GOTR SoleMate
4 thoughts on “MCM Training Week 5

  1. Congrats on your run week! Your goal is just to finish? Or to get sub 5? It seems like with your kind of training you’re going to do a LOT faster than that! I just started doing intervals for the first time this year and I feel like they are going to make all the difference in finish time. And good on you for stroller training. Wow. So hard!

    • The intervals make a huge difference. I noticed that while training for my 10k using this plan. My marathon pace is 10:53 which makes for a finish time of 4:45:20 (specifically! haha). I’m being *safe* with my goals. This being my first full, I’ll be happy with a finish, no matter what the clock says!

Leave a Reply

