MCM Training Week 6

Training for: Marine Corps Marathon October 25, 2015 in Washington, D.C

Method: Run Less, Run Faster Novice Marathon Training

Goal: a) Finish b) sub 5:00:00

68 days until Marine Corps Marathon!

I had a great week of training and my long run was on point!

Monday: plan: 2×1200, 4×800. actual: 4.35 miles in 45:30 (10:28 avg) hit all the intervals, felt strong after

Tuesday: rest

Wednesday: plan: 1 easy, 5 mid tempo, 1 easy. actual: 7 miles in 1:19:49 (11:19 avg)

I set out to do my long run on this day so my “tempo” pace wasn’t exactly there. Once I realized the long run wasn’t happening, I intentionally picked up the pace.

Thursday: Row 1.25 miles in 10:25,

Bike 2.03 mile in 7:50

Friday: plan: 14 miles in 11:33. actual 14.08 in 2:42:30 (11:32 avg) whattttt???? I’ve been doing okay hitting my goal pace using the Virtual Pacer feature on my Garmin. This run was all by feel. PLUS I ran with two other people! It’s crazy how perfect and enjoyable this run was. Yes, you can be envious! ha.

I feel like runs this long need their own recap! That’s a lot of time for just a little blurb on my blog. But don’t worry, I’ve talked to enough people in person about it! lol

My run started off at 5:45 am, since sunrise is getting later and later. I had plans to meet my friend S and run 5 miles with her and then my friend J was joining me at 7:30 for 3 or 4. Running with them made the time go by nicely! By the time J left, I had only 2 miles left and their were easy peasy. I popped my headphones in and put on an Audiobook (The Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell). I have been “reading” this book for a long time. It’s not to say I don’t enjoy it, I just don’t think to listen to it when I get the chance.
image

I can’t think of any other way, I’d rather start my birthday! I hope my upcoming long runs can match up.

Saturday: rest

Sunday: rest

I had gotten tickets to Jimmy Buffett for my husband back on Father’s Day. The show was finally here (Saturday). Then, we found out his sister needed to get rid of Toby Keith tickets (Friday)… I was a little apprehensive to go to back to back concerts, but I couldn’t pass up Toby on my birthday! I’m glad I got my miles in early because there is NO WAY I was waking up to do them after those two late nights.

I’m raising money for Girls On The Run, my goal is $1500 and I’m 46% there! If you are interested in helping me reach my goal please donate here, thank you!

GOTR SoleMate
GOTR SoleMate
8 thoughts on “MCM Training Week 6

  1. Happy birthday! Mine is Saturday 🙂 here’s to some awesome Leo’s in the building!

    Sometimes I have an awesome training run by feel! It really is awesome when your runs are on point like that.

    • I love having an August birthday! There is always something fun to do!! My husband is February and his birthday plans a few years back got cancelled due to a BLIZZARD. No thank you!

  2. Happy birthday! Two concerts, that’s awesome. I’ve never seen Jimmy Buffet but I hear he does a great show. Congrats on rocking your long run!

Leave a Reply

