MCM Training Week 8

Training for: Marine Corps Marathon October 25, 2015 in Washington, D.C

Method: Run Less, Run Faster Novice Marathon Training

Goal: 4:45:00

mcm

54 days until Marine Corps Marathon!

I am officially halfway through my training!! After this week, I only have 4 runs that are longer than what I’ve already run. 16, 18, 20 and 26.2! I am feeling strong – mentally and physically. This week I did much better with cross training.

Monday: 15 minute ab class followed by 2x (6x400m with 90 sec rest) 2 min 30 second rest between sets. Interval pace is 8:48/mi. Total 4.5 miles in 47:00

Tuesday: Tempo run EASY x2, 9:45, 9:45, 9:36, EASY Total 6.01 in 1:03:11 The treadmill at the gym shut off after 60 minutes. It was tempting to leave it at that but I finished out the 6 miles!

Wednesday: hour long Body Pump class at the gym

Thursday: rest

Friday: plan: 15 miles at 11:23. actual 15.01 in 2:49:12 avg pace 11:19/mi! Nailed it!

run

I felt strong on this run! I had company for the first 5.5 miles and then I was alone. It was a long time to be running alone but much to my surprise, when I hit 14 miles, I was 3 minutes ahead of my 14 mile finish two weeks ago! And my last mile??? 9:47!!!! Finish strong baby!

I ended the day with over 44k steps!

Saturday: rest – recover from Country Fest and work!

Sunday: rest – does walking through beach sand carrying a baby, count for anything?

I’m raising money for Girls On The Run, my goal is $1500 and I’m 58% there! If you are interested in helping me reach my goal please donate here, thank you!

GOTR SoleMate
GOTR SoleMate
4 thoughts on “MCM Training Week 8

Leave a Reply

